Thanks, Mom

I couldn’t tell you this in the womb

Thanks for keeping things cozy

I couldn’t talk when you changed me

Thank you for making it rosy

I had no words to express my thanks

When you washed me after beans and franks

How you blew my belly to make me laugh

And suffered spit ups on my behalf

 

When at last I learned to speak my mind

I must admit I wasn’t kind

Instead I cried for more for me

Give me toys, I want candy!

I never thanked you from my heart

When you displayed my scribbles as art

You wiped my nose and cleaned my cuts

And never laughed when I was a klutz

 

Today I know how much you gave

In spite of how I did behave

No more am I an ungrateful terror

You were a blessing, I was in error

I thank you on this Mother’s Day

Now would you please take away

The curse you placed when I was three

That I’d have one just like me?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by jennifermajor on May 13, 2012 at 6:52 PM

    this is awesome!!! Can I send it along, with your name and full credit?

    Reply

  2. Of course and thanks, Jennifer!

    Reply

  3. Posted by jennifermajor on May 15, 2012 at 5:00 PM

Leave a Reply

