Graceful Existence

It took me years of unnecessary raging about fairness, justice and yada yada before I realized a truth. When I was young, I wasn’t ready to hear it. I thought people who said it were just quitters who gave up trying to make the world a perfect place. How dare they rain on my parade, right?
Virginia Satir once said, “Life is not what it’s supposed to be. It’s what it is. The way you cope with it is what makes the difference.”
I totally misunderstood what she meant when I was young. I thought it meant, you can’t change the world, so deal with it! Instead, it has a completely different meaning. We can’t change what is, but we can affect what we can and live with the results knowing we did what we could. Perfection is an ideal never realized. It’s quite simple, but I smack my head when I realize how much of my youth was wasted trying to get perfection out of an imperfect world and my imperfect self. Grace rules!

3 responses to this post.

  1. It’s like the old saying goes, “Youth is wasted on the young”. I can’t believe all the grief I caused myself by being young and, honestly, dumb!

    Found your blog through Rachelle Gardner. Please check mine out as well- have a great weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

