Vile Enemy

Cold, still, lying on silken ruffles
Hands folded across her quiet heart
Peaceful now. Her battle’s over
She fought in a war she didn’t start

Eating away all but her spirit
Anguished by pain that never ceased
Smiles through tears unwontedly flowed
Though her foe’s attacks increased

You are my enemy, vile cancer
Eating the flesh that gives you life
I will not stop ‘til you are history
The woman you stole was my wife

                                                                  PJC

I wrote this for a friend who watched his wife of sixty-three years die after months of anguish.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Becky Doughty on September 18, 2012 at 7:01 AM

    It’s a battle no one should ever have to fight, isn’t it? Makes me long for Heaven.

    Blessings,
    Becky

    Reply

  2. Posted by carolyn knotts on September 18, 2012 at 2:35 PM

    That was beautiful Jim. My prayers are with this womans family.

    Reply

  3. Very well said.

    My prayers are with your friend – and with you, for the pain that can accrue to a gentle and supporting heart.

    Reply

  4. I’ve lost both of my parents to cancer, so your poem really spoke to me. Beautifully said. Thanks for sharing and my prayers are with your friend as well.

    Reply

  5. On Oct. 18 — one month after you offered this touching poem -,- my wife of fifty years died of leukemia after a two year battle. Your poem spoke to myheart. Tears still flow each morning, as they do right now. I am moving forward, already made plans to attend a writers conference and attended a new local writers group. At various times in our life together she had to fight to live from various medical problems. My soliace is that now she has that new body which will never know illness. Thanks for your well-written words and thoughts. Before her death I dedicated my first novel to her, Alias Thomas A, Katt.
    I look forward to your further blogs.
    Bob

    Reply

Leave a Reply

