Facebook or Falsebook?

I spend a lot of time on Snopes.com when I go to Facebook.  We see something. It touches a heart-string or enrages us.  So, we share it.  Unfortunately, many of the claims I see are false.  Remember Pepsi cans with “under God” taken out?  What about the guy with the winning lottery ticket who was going to share a free million?  Political stuff comes out that didn’t even happen.  Quotes that were never made become talking points.  Mass emails go out with special information about government conspiracy by “_insert_politicians_name_here_”  Most of the videos are staged, a lot of the cute and adorable photos are Photo-Shop creations.  Reality gets skewed when we buy into unsubstantiated claims.

Just today, I saw a story about a Marine who stood guard outside an Elementary school and is now facing a fine of 10,000 dollars and 5 years in prison.  The only problem is, he is not who he claims to be.  Craig Pusley never served overseas and was in the Marines for less than a year (July 2007 until April 2008).  But his story will be shared for the next year on Facebook.  Guys like him are the ones from whom we need protection.  He’s delusional.  I don’t want him guarding my kids.

What I hope for is that people will check things out before they post.  Just Google the information, check the facts, see if there’s anything on sites like Snopes.  Is it so hard to verify the truth before opening one’s mouth or hitting share?

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by einefeistyberg on December 24, 2012 at 8:34 PM

    I am pretty skeptical by nature and I still find myself falling for stuff if I don’t think twice.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lwnewstart on December 26, 2012 at 3:56 PM

    C’mon Jim…. if it’s in print, it’s gotta be TRUE!

    Reply

  3. I always try to fact check before posting on FB for this very reason. I haven’t seen this one floating around–don’t know how I missed it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

